Ciaran Gallagher (Senior Player of the Year)

After a very successful season on the field Finn Harps F.C. hosted an ‘End of Season’ Awards function on Saturday night in the Villa Rose Hotel, Ballybofey.

Head of Academy at Finn Harps Football Club Kevin McHugh thanked the senior committee, during Saturday night’s awards presentation in the Villa Rose Hotel, for all their efforts, contribution and dedication to help with funding the underage ranks during the 2018 season.

McHugh highlighted the commitment from all the coaches, volunteers, players and parents throughout the season. There was a special thanks to Michael Grant (Academy) and Dougie and Gavin the Academy groundsmen for their dedication for the past year. McHugh also spoke about he new structure within the Academy to help pathways from local clubs to academy to national league to eventually the first team.

The commitment from everyone within the club towards growing the Girls Academy was also acknowledged. During the awards function the achievements of the Finn Harps U17 double winning team got a special mention. McHugh also confirmed that the new sponsor for Finn Harps Schools/Academy will be DMG Motors Donegal Town. There was also special recognition on the night for Ciaran Coll, Keith Cowan and a big congratulations to the nine Finn Harps underage players who were capped at international level for the Republic and Northern Ireland from U15 to U19s.

Thanks to Stephen Doherty for the photos.

Senior Team

Player of the Year – Ciaran Gallagher

Young Player of the Year – Sam Todd

Top Goalscorer – Mikey Place

Special Recognition

Ciaran College -10 years service

Keith Cowan – 200th Appearance

Academy U16

Player of the Year – Darragh McFadden

Most Improved player – Cian Mc Entee

Academy 2004 Squad

Player of the Year – Noah Barrett

Most Improved player – Josh Maxwell

Academy 2005 Squad

Player of the Year – Martin Dugera

Most Improved player – Ruairi McLaughlin

Academy 2006 Squad

Player of the Year – Jason Spense

Most Improved player – Shane Ellison

Academy Girls Squad

Player of the Year:Ella McHugh

Most Improved player:Caithlyn Bolton

Academy 2007 Squad

Player of the Year:Carragher Friel

Most Improved player:Killian Sampson


Mike Place (Senior Team Top Goalscorer)

Michael Gallagher (U19 Player of the Year)

Pat Loughrey  (U19 Young Player of the Year)

Stephen Black  (U17 Young Player of the Year)

Daragh Ellison  (U17 Top Goalscorer)

Jack Doherty  (U17 Player of the Year)


Ella McHugh (Academy Girls Squad Player of the Year)

Caitlyn Bolton (Academy Girls Squad Most Improved Player)

New Harps Academy Sponsor: DMG Motors Donegal Town

KN Group CEO Donagh Kelly with Harps directors Sean Quinn and James Rogers

New Harps Academy Sponsor: DMG Motors Donegal Town

A part of the attendance of over 300 people on the night

295 total views, 2 views today

Share Button