Match Sponsored By North Strand Dental

Finn Harps 7-1 Cabinteely

Ollie Horgan saw his Finn Harps side round off the regulation First Division with an emphatic win over Cabinteely in Ballybofey. The result also extended the club’s unbeaten run out to 10 games and Harps will now hope to continue that good form into the play-offs which start on Friday the 12th of October. The hosts were 3-0 up early on with Paddy McCourt scoring a superb goal. Either side of that the returning Mikey Place netted the opener while Jesse Devers nipped in for the third on 17 minutes. Kieran Marty Waters pulled a goal back for the visitors ten minutes after the break but Harps produced the perfect response thanks to a subtle finish from Aidan Friel. Place got his second on 75 minutes to make 5-1 and then a couple of quick goals from Nathan Boyle and Jacob Borg rounded off  a great night for the home supporters.

Match Ball Sponsor: JDK Engineering

Horgan gave game time to reserve keeper Peter Burke, defender Aidan Friel, Tommy McBride and Jesse Devers while regulars like Ciaran Gallagher, Keith Cowan and Gareth Harkin were on the bench. Burke made a magnificent early save to deny Paul Fox before Harps got a welcome early goal on 11 minutes. Place headed home after a neat build up involving McCourt and Devers. But then the home fans breathed a sigh of relief when a Waters strike came back off the crossbar.

Harps doubled their advantage on 15 minutes when after a terrific bit of close control McCourt drifted into the danger area before slipping the ball past  Jack Menton. The former Glasgow Celtic player then put Devers through to make it 3-0.  After the break Burke pulled of another fine save from a Waters header. But Waters did pull a goal back on 55 minutes. Horgan’s men were in no mood to allow a comeback and Aidan Friel took a pass from Devers’ before steering the ball past Menton from 10 yards. Place made it 5-1 on 75 minutes before substitute Nathan Boyle and Jacob Borg capped a great night for all at Finn Harps Football Club.

Finn Harps – Peter Burke, Aidan Friel, Niall Logue, Sam Todd, Ciaran Coll, John Kavanagh, Jessie Devers (John O’Flynn 73), Jacob Borg, Mikey Place, Tommy McBride (Timmy Sobawale h-t),  Paddy McCourt (Nathan Boyle 51). Not used: Mark Hannon, Keith Cowan, Gareth Harkin, Ciaran Gallagher (Gk).

Cabinteely FC –  Jack Menton, Keith Dalton (Adam Doyle 87), Jack Tuite, Sean Fitzpatrick (Alex Aspil 87), Dan Blackbyrne, Paul Fox, Andrew O’Reilly (Adam Maher 46), Jack Hudson, Joseph Doyle, Marty Waters, Dean Casey. Ref: Marc Lynch.

237 total views, 2 views today

Share Button