Paddy McCourt

Donegal Junior League 0-2 Finn Harps
Finn Harps continued their preparations for next week’s big top of the table clash against UCD with a friendly match win over the Donegal Junior League to mark the opening of the new pitch and floodlights at Diamond Park, Ballyare on Wednesday night. Manager Ollie Horgan used the fixture to give game time to a number of players who didn’t start in the win over Galway Utd last Friday at Finn Park. Only Sam Todd and Mark Timlin were included from start last night while Horgan also used the opportunity have a look at couple of trialists and there was a welcome return to action for Paddy McCourt who had missed the last two months due to injury.
And it was the Derry native who gave Harps an early lead while sub Niall McGinley doubled that advantage in the second half. The game played at a transformed Diamond Park after the Donegal Junior League’s headquarters got a major upgrade with the new pitch, floodlights, fencing and a perimeter footpath at a cost of 300,000 euros. Prior to the friendly fixture on Wednesday evening the new facilities got a special blessing from Fr. Michael Sweeney, a man who was instrumental in purchasing the Ballyare land. The game was also a good run-out for the Donegal Junior League who are preparing for the new Oscar Traynor Cup under new manager Raymond Shields.
In addition to Todd and Timlin there was also game time for goalkeeper Peter Burke, Aidan Friel, Mark Hannon, Jesse Devers and Timmy Sobowale. Horgan also gave a first start to Mayo youngster Fintan Boretti who had been signed during the summer transfer window. The likes of McGinley, Adam Duffy, Liam Walsh and Dylan McCroary came off the subs bench as did U19 goalkeeper Jamie Bell.

Donegal League – Michael Mullen; James Doherty, Ryan Shields, Kieran Gorman, Gareth Colhoun; Jaydee Alawiye, Cory Gallagher, Shaun McGowan, Matthew Crossan; William Lynch, JP Malley. Subs used:Darren McGowan, Aidan McLaughlin, Chris O’Donnell.

Finn Harps – Peter Burke, Fintan Boretti, Sam Todd, Aidan Friel, Mark Hannon, Paddy McCourt, Jesse Devers, Trialist, Oluwatunmise Sobawale, Mark Timlin, Trialist. Subs used: Dylan McCroary, Liam Walsh, Adam Duffy, Niall McGinley, Gareth Harkin, Keith Cowan, Mikey Place, Jamie Bell. Not used: Ciaran Gallagher.

Ref: Garvan Taggart.

242 total views, 1 views today

Share Button