Oluwatunmise Sobowale scored on his debut

Finn Harps 3-0 Longford Town

Ollie Horgan saw his Finn Harps side produce arguably their best home performance of the season to defeat fellow promotion contenders Longford Town in Ballybofey last night. It was a great start for the two new signings Jacob Borg and Oluwatunmise Sobowale with the latter scoring on his debut. Nathan Boyle also got his first goal after joining Harps prior to last week’s game in Drogheda.

The win now puts Horgan’s outfit third on goal difference just behind Drogheda while UCD continue to lead the First Division after defeating Wexford Youths. The hosts got better as the match went on and were really on top in the second half. It was some turnaround from their last meeting at Finn Park on the June Bank Holiday Monday when Longford won 4-2.

It’s three wins on the trot since the resumption of the league after the mid-season break and no goals conceded into the bargain.

Harps had an early chance when Jesse Devers forced an early save from keeper Mick Kelly but the Mayo man then picked up a leg injury and had to be replaced by Nathan Boyle.

At the other end Longford’s Karl Chambers had a decent chance but failed to test Ciaran Gallagher.

Sobowale then called Kelly into action again with the keeper’s legs saving the visitors this time. Then at the perfect time the home team broke the deadlock just before the break when Boyle headed past Kelly from Jacob Borg’s left wing cross at the river end of the ground.

Place should have doubled that advantage just after the restart but the young striker did find the back of the net, converting a penalty in emphatic fashion following a foul on Ciaran Coll at a corner-kick. Place was also involved in the killer third goal, after a short corner, he set up Sobowale to steer the ball home from close range on 77 minutes.

Finn Harps – Ciaran Gallagher, Aidan Friel (Mark Coyle 72 mins), Ciaran Coll, Keith Cowan, Sam Todd, Tommy McBride, Jesse Devers (Nathan Boyle 13 mins), Jacob Borg, Mikey Place, Oluwatunmise Sobowale (John O’Flynn 80 mins), Mark Timlin. Not used: Peter Burke (Gk), Niall McGinley, Lee Toland, Mark Hannon

Longford Town – Mick Kelly, Shane Elworthy, Tristan Noack Hofmann, Mick McDonald, Daniel O’Reilly, Dean Zambra (Chris Mulhall 63), Karl Chambers, Aodh Dervin, Craig Walsh, Dean Dillon, Dylan McGlade. Referee: Damien McGrath.

278 total views, 2 views today

Share Button