Match Sponsored by the FAI

Finn Harps 1-0 Galway Utd

Ollie Horgan saw his Finn Harps side make it four wins in a row thanks to a dramatic late goal from Jesse Devers on Bank Holiday Monday evening against Galway Utd in Ballybofey. The result puts Harps second in the table ahead of their trip to take on Shelbourne on this Friday night.

It was a very good weekend for Horgan’s men following the 2-1 victory over Drogheda Utd on Friday night at Finn Park. The manager was forced into five personnel changes from the Drogheda game with Sam Todd and Michael O’Connor suspended while Mark Coyle, B.J. Banda were among the subs as was Mark Timlin who wasn’t fit to start due to a hamstring injury. In came Lee Toland, Devers, John O’Flynn and youngsters Mark Hannon and Niall McGinley who were both making their league debuts.

Match Ball Sponsors: 54 Crew, Finn Harps Supporters Club

The winner came as the third minute of injury time approached when Devers latched onto a perfect 40-yard pass from sub Paddy McCourt. The Mayo man shielded the ball from a defender before unleashing a terrific dipping volley over keeper Tadhg Ryan into the top right hand corner of the net at the river end of the ground.

Galway came into the game a point ahead of Harps and are seen as one of the sides that will be challenging for promotion to the Premier Division. Ciaran O’Connor had a chance for the hosts on 14 minutes but headed over from a Lee Toland cross. At the other end Carlton Ubaezuonu tested Ciaran Gallagher who pushed the effort around the post at the expense of a corner. And from that set-piece Galway’s record goal scorer Alan Murphy should have hit the target.

The visitors had the upper hand for much of the second half with Gallagher having to make a good stop from Eoin McCormack just after the restart and the Harps keeper pulled of fine save to deny Gary Shanahan on the hour mark.

Sub McCourt came close with a free-kick and then right at the death Devers produced that wonderful finish that now puts Finn Harps second in the First Division table.

Finn Harps – Ciaran Gallagher, Aidan Friel, Ciaran Coll, Keith Cowan, Lee Toland; Tommy McBride, Jesse Devers, Niall McGinley, Mark Hannon; Ciaran O’Connor, John O’Flynn. Subs: Mark Coyle for McGinley 66 mins, Paddy McCourt for Hannon 76 mins, BJ Banda for O’Connor 81 mins. Not used: Gareth Doherty, Mark Timlin, Darragh Ellison, Peter Burke (Gk).

Galway United – Tadhg Ryan, Gary Shanahan, Robbie Williams, Stephen Walsh, Maurice Nugent; Alan Murphy, Conor Barry (Stephen Kenny 84), Conor Melody, Ryan Connolly, Eoin McCormack, Carlton Ubaezuounu. Subs: Danny Furlong for Melody 66 mins, Stephen Kenny for Barry 84 mins, Conor Layng for Ubaezuounu 89 mins.

Ref: Paul McLaughlin.

268 total views, 3 views today

Share Button