Match Sponsor: Letterkenny No1 Celtic supporters club

Finn Harps 1-0 Cabinteely FC

For the second successive week Sam Todd scored for Finn Harps with the big difference this time being that it gave Ollie Horgan’s side a hugely needed victory over Cabinteely in Ballybofey. Seven days earlier Todd had got his first league goal for Harps but the game ended in defeat to UCD at Belfield.

The centre-half’s winner came in the 84th minute, forcing the ball home from a Mark Timlin corner after sub BJ Banda’s initial effort was pushed out by the keeper. After just a point from the previous three matches Harps needed this result to keep them on the fringes of the promotion race.

Over the 90 minutes there was little to choose between the two sides and certainly Cabinteely would have been disappointed to head back to Dublin with nothing to show for their endeavours.

Match Ball Sponsor: Ferm Engineering Donegal Town

Horgan started with the same 11 as was named for the UCD game. Scoring chances were few and far between. Harps right-back Aidan did get himself into a good position but a poor cross undone the initial good work.

Cabinteely’s best first half chance fell to Eoin Stokes who shot wide.

The hosts were fortunate not to go behind right at the start of the second half when Dean Casey’s drive came back off the post and shortly afterwards the same player saw another effort go the wrong side of Ciaran Gallagher’s upright.

Horgan’s men struggled to test the visiting keeper Sean Hyland.

On 72 minutes vice-captain Keith Cowan managed to turn the ball back across goal following a corner but the danger was cleared. Harps did up their game a bit in the closing stages and with 11 minutes remaining two subs Ciaran O’Connor and B.J. Banda combined but in a one-on-one with  the keeper the Letterkenny lad was way off with his finishing. Banda did have a part to play in the all important goal as his shot was blocked with Todd quickest to react to force the rebound past Hyland.

Finn Harps – Ciaran Gallagher, Aidan Friel, Ciaran Coll, Keith Cowan, Sam Todd, Tommy McBride, Jesse Devers, Paddy McCourt, Michael O’Connor, Mark Coyle, Mark Timlin. Subs: BJ Banda for Deevers 55 mins, Ciaran O’Connor for McCourt 72 mins, John O’Flynn for Friel 81 mins. Not used: Peter Burke (Gk), Gareth Doherty, Mark Hannon, Lee Toland.

Cabinteely FC: Sean Hyland, Karl Byrne, Kevin Knight, Kieran Butler, Conor Keeley, Andy O’Reilly, Joe Doyle, Jack Watson (Aaron Robinson 84), Eoin Stokes (Kaleen Simon 89), Kieran Waters, Dean Casey (Stephen Ball 81).

Referee: Marc Lynch.

274 total views, 3 views today

Share Button