Kevin and Zack Bradley representing Highland Bakery letterkenny present match sponsorship cheque to Kathy Taaffe & Sean Quinn of Finn Harps at Finn Park last night. Thank you to Kevin & all the staff at Highland for their ongoing support. Picture by Joe Boland.

Finn Harps 1-0 Wexford Youths

Ollie Horgan saw his Finn Harps side struggle to a slender 1-0 win over Wexford Youths in Ballybofey thanks to a 68th minute Michael O’Connor goal. The win means Harps remain unbeaten after three league games and are now up to fourth in the table. The hosts had the advantage of an extra man from three minutes into the second half when Wexford’s Owen McCormack was sent-off for an apparent off the ball incident.

But, it didn’t help them much as the visitors packed out the defence in the hope of going home with a share of the spoils after their 8-1 by hammering by Drogheda Utd a week earlier. The winning goal was conjured up by the O’Connor brothers with Michael applying the clinical finish after a superb run and cross from his brother Ciaran.

Horgan made just one change from the Cobh win with Jesse Devers replacing the injured Paddy McCourt in midfield.

Devers impressed on his first full league start but against the run of play Wexford midfielder Chris Kenny missed a great chance from a header to put his side in front. Late in the half Devers tried to race onto a through ball but goalkeeper Kealan Gaffney was just quick enough to clear the danger while Harps skipper Ciaran Coll saw header from a Mark Timlin corner go just wide.

The visitors cause certainly wasn’t helped on 48 minutes when McCormick was shown a straight red card.

The hosts tried to take advantage with Mark Coyle and Coll both testing the keeper. Much to the relief of the home fans Michael O’Connor nipped in for that all important 68th minute goal which proved to be the match winner. It was his second league goal of the season and his third in total having also scored in the EA Sports Cup.

Match Sponsored By Highland Bakery

Finn Harps – Ciaran Gallagher, Mark Coyle, Ciaran Coll, Keith Cowan, Sam Todd, Tommy McBride, Mark Timlin, Jesse Devers (Aidan Friel 80 mins), Michael O’Connor, John O’Flynn (Adam Duffy 71 mins), Ciaran O’Connor (Lee Toland 89 mins). Not used: Peter Burke (Gk), Liam Walsh, Mark Hannon, Eric Whelan.

Wexford Youths – Kealan Gaffney, Aidan Lehane, Sean Hurley, Ross Kenny, Owen McCormack, Mikey Byrne, Liam McCartan, Thomas Croke (Dean Kelly 80 mins), Chris Kenny, Danny Doyle (Shane Barnes 80 mins), John Morgan (Owen Wall 80 mins).


379 total views, 3 views today

Share Button