Paddy McCourt

Bohemians 3-1 Finn Harps

There was no joy for relegated Finn Harps in their final League of Ireland Premier Division game of the season as Bohemians ended their campaign with a victory at Dalymount Park to finish fifth in the table.

Philip Gannon’s 29th minute goal had the hosts 1-0 up at the break and then strikes in the space of three minutes after the hour mark from Ismail Akinade and Jamie Hamilton sealed victory for Keith Long’s side. It was Harps sixth successive league defeat.

Manager Ollie Horgan made one change from the Drogheda game with Eddie Dsane returning to the starting eleven after suspension in place of Tommy McBride who dropped to the subs bench.

Bohs started the sharper and Dinny Corcoran probably should have hit the target but his volley went over the bar. At the other end Ibrahim Keita’s low drive was just inches wide.

The physically powerful Akinade drew a decent save from Ciaran Gallagher on 23 minutes before Bohs deservedly broke the deadlock just before the half-hour mark. Corcoran and Akinade combined to free Gannon whose initial effort was pushed out by the Harps keeper. But Gannon was on hand to force the rebound home.

It should have been 2-0 for the hosts five minutes later when Gannon’s corner was handled by Packie Mailey. However, Corcoran’s poor penalty attempt came back off a post before being cleared for another corner. Early in the second half sub Jamie Hamilton was put in one-on-one with Gallagher but the youngster shot straight at the Harps netminder.

But the crucial second goal did come and it was Akinade who applied a clinical finish on 62 minutes from a Pender cross.

Three minutes later came the killer third goal as Oscar Brennan’s cross fell to Hamilton and the youngster slotted home his first senior goal for the Dalymount outfit.

Horgan’s men got a consolation goal in the 75th minute when the ball ended up in the net off a Bohs defender following a corner from Harps sub Paddy McCourt.

Bohemians – Colin McCabe; John Ross Wilson, Dan Casey, Warren O’Hora (Georgie Poynton h-t), Derek Pender; Oscar Brennan, Ian Morris; Ismahil Akinade, Philip Gannon (Eoin Wearen 72), Paddy Kavanagh (Jamie Hamilton 37); Dinny Corcoran.

Finn Harps – Ciaran Gallagher; Damien McNulty, Packie Mailey, Kilian Cantwell, Ciaran Coll; Danny Morrissey, Gareth Harkin (Paddy McCourt 62), Mark Timlin (Liam Walsh 82); Caolan McAleer (Sean Houston 69), Ibrahim Keita, Eddie Dsane. Not used: Peter Burke (GK), Jonny Bonner, Tommy McBride, B.J. Banda.

Referee: Rob Hennessy (Clare).

938 total views, 1 views today

Share Button