Danny Morrissey

Limerick F.C. 0-2 Finn Harps

Despite having Kilian Cantwell sent-off just before half-time Finn Harps pulled off a superb victory at the Markets Field last night. Ollie Horgan, who was sent to the Stand at the break, saw his side defend a 39th minute Tommy McBride goal with ten men in the second half till Harps sub Danny Morrissey made it 2-0 life. That goal on 72 minutes made life just a little more comfortable for the visitors and  took them out of the bottom three into the bargain.

Horgan recalled Eddie Dsane after serving a two-game suspension while Sean Houston also started after being only used from the bench when the two teams met in that FAI Senior Cup second round game just six days previously at the Markets Field.

Last night Harps defended from the start with the aim of trying to hit the hosts on the break. But, Limerick, were perhaps unlucky not to break the deadlock a couple of times with Peter Berki coming closest with an effort shot that was cleared off the line.

Against the run of play Harps took the lead when Paddy McCourt’s silky skills put Eddie Dsane on a run down the wing and his strike was pushed out by Brendan Clarke only as far as Tommy McBride who drilled the ball into the roof of the net for his first goal since rejoining the club

But, the half ended in controversy from the visitors’ perspective. Limerick defender Tony Whitehead was allowed to carry the ball into the Harps half before releasing Peter Berki who was then adjudged by referee Thomas Connolly to have been taken down in the penalty area by Kilian Cantwell.

A penalty was awarded and the match official sent Cantwell off.

Fortunately for Harps, Rodrigo Tosi’s spot-kick came back off an upright. Horgan was banished to the Stand at half time but his side showed grit and determination for the whole second half. There situation was boosted when poor defending was capitalized upon by sub Danny Morrissey to make it 2-0.

Limerick – Brendan Clarke; Barry Cotter (Henry Cameron, 49), Tony Whitehead, Joe Crowe, Dave O’Connor; Lee-J Lynch, Bastien Hery, Shane Duggan, Chiedozie Ogbene; Peter Berki (Stephen Kenny, 49), Rodrigo Tosi (John O’Flynn, 73).

Finn Harps – Ciaran Gallagher; Ethan Boyle, Damien McNulty, Killian Cantwell, Ciaran Coll; Paddy McCourt (Jonny Bonnar, 82), Tommy McBride; Mark Timlin, Sean Houston, Eddie Dsane (Shane Blaney, 88); Ibrahim Keita (Danny Morrissey, 49). Not used: Peter Burke (Gk), B.J. Banda, Liam Walsh.

459 total views, 1 views today

Share Button